AMIAD WORLDWIDE

Select your country and language

Based on your current location, we recommend this Amiad website for you

North America - English
ÉTUDE DE CAS

Système de réduction des œufs d'helminthes, Australie

PROJECT

WE ARE COMMITTED - CLEAN WATER IS LIFE

Project ID

Pays

Australia

Application

Station de traitement des eaux usées

Source d'eau

Eaux usées

Solution de filtration

4 skids x 10 x filtres 4” Galaxy Spin-Klin

התקנה של מסנני דיסקיות
התקנה של מסנני דיסקיות
שלט בכניסה

Contexte

La station d’épuration de Melton cherchait une solution à son problème de stockage de l’eau. Face à un espace de stockage devenu insuffisant en raison de l’augmentation constante de la demande, et aux directives australiennes imposant de stocker l’eau pendant au moins 25 jours pour que le taux d’œufs d’helminthes soit acceptable, deux solutions étaient envisageables. La première solution consistait à aménager une nouvelle retenue pour stocker cette eau, la deuxième à installer un système de filtration permettant de réduire la quantité d’œufs d’helminthes jusqu’au niveau préconisé, et éviter d’avoir à stocker l’eau pendant 25 jours.

Défi

Amiad a dû proposer une solution économique capable de remplacer avantageusement la solution de retenue d’eau, et d’éradiquer les œufs d’helminthes par filtration mécanique uniquement.

Solution

À l’issue de la présentation au client des différentes options de filtration (à l’aide de l’environnement 4D d’Amiad), comprenant filtration à tamis, microfibre, médias et disques, le client a opté pour le système de filtration à disques. Amiad a alors conçu et fourni 4 x 10 systèmes de contre-lavage à source externe 4 » Galaxy (assurant une filtration jusqu’à 20 microns) ainsi qu’un automate programmable permettant de commander l’ensemble. Le système a été conçu pour être évolutif au cas où les besoins augmenteraient. Nous avons également offert la possibilité d’installer un filtre à microfibres AMF pour garantir une filtration jusqu’à 2 microns et l’obtention d’une eau de classe B, mais son intégration a été remise à plus tard.

Résultat

Depuis la mise en service du système en 2016, le client bénéficie des avantages suivants : • Pas d’investissement important dans une retenue d’eau • Réduction de l’apport en chlore • Amélioration conséquente de la capacité de traitement d’eau de classe A – avec notamment réduction du procédé de nettoyage en place et du recours aux produits chimiques

AMIAD WORLDWIDE

Select your country and language

Based on your current location, we recommend this Amiad website for you

North America - English
CASE STUDY

Helminth Eggs Reduction System, Australia

PROJECT

WE ARE COMMITTED - CLEAN WATER IS LIFE

Project ID

Country

Australia

Application

Wastewater Treatment Plant

Water source

Wastewater

Filtration solution

4 skids x 10 x 4” Galaxy Spin-Klin filters each with 20-micron disc elements and an external source backwash system

disc filter installation
disc filter installation
sign at the entrance to the water treatment facility

Background

Melton Waste Water Treatment Plant needed a solution to the water storage problem they had. With storage space running out for an ever-growing system, and Australian guidelines meaning that water must be retained for 25 days before it can have achieved an appropriate Helminth eggs reduction level, they had 2 options. The first option was to build a new dam for storage of this water, the second being to install a filtration system that would achieve the Helminth eggs reduction required, and eradicate the need for 25 days of storage too.

Challenge

Amiad was challenged with developing a cost-effective solution, replacing the idea of building the dam, whilst dealing with the Helminth egg removal with mechanical filtration only.

Solution

After presenting the client with different filtration options (using Amiad’s 4D framework) including Screen, Microfiber, Media and Disc filtration, the client opted for a disc filtration system. Amiad then designed & supplied 4 x 10 x 4 inch Galaxy External Source Backwashing Systems (filtering to 20 micron) and a PLC Controller for the system to run it from. The system is designed with the future in mind, allowing for expansion should demand for the plants resources increase further. We also offered a capability to install an AMF microfiber filter to guarantee filtration down to 2 micron & guarantee Class B water through the system, but this was decided to be left for a later date.

Results

The system has been running since April 2016, with the client benefitting from: • Not requiring large-scale investment in a new dam • A reduction in chlorine injection • Vast improvement in Class A water plant capacity – including a reduction of CIP process and chemical usage.