AMIAD WORLDWIDE

Select your country and language

Based on your current location, we recommend this Amiad website for you

North America - English
FALLSTUDIEN

Kühlwasser-Recycling-Kreislauf in einem Stahlwerk, USA

PROJEKT

WIR ENGAGIEREN UNS - REINES WASSER IST LEBEN

ProjeKt ID

Land

USA

Anwendung

Kühlwasser

Wasserquelle

Recyceltes Kühlwasser

Filtrationslösung

4 x 14” EBS 10K

התקנת מסנני רשת

Hintergrund

Bei dieser Stahlproduktionsanlage handelt es sich um ein Kontiwalzwerk und mit einem Hubbalkenofen. Das Kühlwasser in der Stahlproduktion wird wiederverwendet. In der Anlage werden unter anderem folgende Produkte hergestellt: • Bohrgestänge (OCTG – 2/3 der Produktion) • Leitungsrohre • Standardrohre • Muffenmaterial • Mechanische Rohre

Herausforderung

Das recycelte Kühlwasser nimmt Sand, Öl und Sprühnebel vom Boden der Anlage (wo es in einen Auffangsumpf abfloss) sowie aus den Gerinnen auf. Das aufbereitete Kühlwasser wurde Düsen mit 3-6 mm Durchmesser zugeführt. Der in dieser Wasserquelle gesammelte Schmutz verstopfte die Düsen, und das Kühlsystem musste alle paar Monate abgeschaltet werden, damit die Düsen gereinigt oder ausgetauscht werden konnten.

Lösung

Im Werk wurden verschiedene Möglichkeiten zur Entfernung des im Kühlwassersammelbehälter anfallenden Schmutzes untersucht, um die Düsen vor Verstopfung zu schützen. Man entschied sich für ein Filtersystem von Amiad, um das Wasser zu filtern, wenn es zu den Düsen zurückgeführt wurde. Das Amiad-System wurde ausgewählt, weil es selbstreinigend ist und andere erfolgreiche Installationen von Amiad-Filtern in ähnlichen Anwendungen vorlagen. • 4 x 14″ EBS 10000 Filter auf einem 18″-Verteiler für 5 Filter • 1500 Mikron (0,06 Zoll) Keilrahmensiebelemente • Steuerung für 5 Filter per SPS • Installiert am 4. Juni 2004

Ergebnis

Im Laufe des Jahres 2018 und nach 15 Betriebsjahren wurde das Filtrationssystem gemäß ISO 18471 (Bestimmung der Filterfeinheit) getestet.

AMIAD WORLDWIDE

Select your country and language

Based on your current location, we recommend this Amiad website for you

North America - English
CASE STUDY

Steel Mill Cooling Water Recycle Loop, USA

PROJECT

WE ARE COMMITTED - CLEAN WATER IS LIFE

Project ID

Country

USA

Application

Cooling Water

Water source

Recycled Cooling Water

Filtration solution

4 x 14” EBS 10K

STEEL MILL COOLING WATER RECYCLE LOOP, USA

Background

This steel production facility is a retained mandrel hot roll mill with a walking beam reheat furnace. Cooling water is reused in the steel production. Products produced at the facility include: • Oil country tubular goods (OCTG – 2/3 of production) • Line pipe • Standard pipe • Coupling stock • Mechanical tube

Challenge

The recycled cooling water was picking up grit, oil and debris spray from the floor of the facility (where it was draining to a collection sump) and from the flumes. Recycled cooling water was fed to 3-6 mm nozzles. Debris collected in this water source was plugging nozzles and the cooling system had to be shut down every few months for the nozzles to be cleaned or replaced.

Solution

The facility researched different options for removing the debris in the cooling water collection sump to protect the nozzles from clogging. They settled on an Amiad filter system to filter the water as it was fed back to the nozzles. The Amiad system was selected because it was self-cleaning and because of other successful installations of Amiad filters in similar applications. • 4 x 14” EBS 10000 filters on an 18” manifold for 5 filters • 1500 micron (0.06 inches) wedgewire screen elements • PLC control set up for 5 filters • Installed June 4, 2004

Results

In the first year of operation, the steel mill found that the filter system performed exceptionally well for them. • No plugged nozzles • No filter down time • TSS Reduction ≈30% • 160 ppm reduced to 110 ppm