AMIAD WORLDWIDE

Select your country and language

Based on your current location, we recommend this Amiad website for you

United Kingdom - English
ÉTUDE DE CAS

Recyclage de l'eau de refroidissement d'une aciérie, É.-U.A.

PROJET

NOUS SOMMES ENGAGÉS - L'EAU PROPRE C'EST LA VIE

ID du projet

Pays

États-Unis

Application

Eau de refroidissement

Source d'eau

Recycled Cooling Water

Solution de filtration

4 x 14” EBS 10K

התקנת מסנני רשת

Contexte

Ce site de production d’acier est constitué d’un laminoir à mandrin et d’un four de réchauffage à longerons mobiles. Dans le secteur de la sidérurgie, l’eau utilisée en production est réutilisée. Produits fabriqués : • Produits tubulaires pour puits de pétrole (OCTG – 2/3 de la production) • Tubes rectilignes • Tubes standard • Éléments de couplage • Tubes mécaniques

Défi

L’eau de refroidissement recyclée ramassait les particules de saleté, de pétrole et débris présents sur le sol de l’usine (sol sur lequel elle s’écoulait jusqu’à un puisard) et dans les canalisations. L’eau de refroidissement recyclée était amenée jusqu’à des buses de 3 à 6 mm. Les débris charriés par cette eau bouchaient les buses et le système de refroidissement devait être arrêté tous les deux ou trois mois pour que les buses puissent être nettoyées ou remplacées.

Solution

Le client a cherché quelles étaient les solutions possibles pour retirer les débris du puisard afin d’éviter l’obstruction des buses. Il a décidé de s’équiper d’un système de filtration Amiad pour filtrer l’eau en amont des buses. Le système Amiad a été choisi en raison de sa capacité autonettoyante et parce qu’il avait déjà été installé avec succès dans des applications similaires. • 4 filtres 14” EBS 10000 sur un collecteur 18” pour 5 filtres • Éléments à tamis à toile en maille 1500 microns • Un automate programmable pour 5 filtres • Installé le 4 juin 2004

Résultat

Au cours de la première année, l’aciérie a déclaré être très satisfaite de son système de filtration. • Pas de buses obstruées • Pas d’interruption du filtre • Réduction du TSS de ≈30 % • Passage de 160 ppm à 110 ppm

AMIAD WORLDWIDE

Select your country and language

Based on your current location, we recommend this Amiad website for you

North America - English
CASE STUDY

Steel Mill Cooling Water Recycle Loop, USA

PROJECT

WE ARE COMMITTED - CLEAN WATER IS LIFE

Project ID

Country

USA

Application

Cooling Water

Water source

Recycled Cooling Water

Filtration solution

4 x 14” EBS 10K

STEEL MILL COOLING WATER RECYCLE LOOP, USA

Background

This steel production facility is a retained mandrel hot roll mill with a walking beam reheat furnace. Cooling water is reused in the steel production. Products produced at the facility include: • Oil country tubular goods (OCTG – 2/3 of production) • Line pipe • Standard pipe • Coupling stock • Mechanical tube

Challenge

The recycled cooling water was picking up grit, oil and debris spray from the floor of the facility (where it was draining to a collection sump) and from the flumes. Recycled cooling water was fed to 3-6 mm nozzles. Debris collected in this water source was plugging nozzles and the cooling system had to be shut down every few months for the nozzles to be cleaned or replaced.

Solution

The facility researched different options for removing the debris in the cooling water collection sump to protect the nozzles from clogging. They settled on an Amiad filter system to filter the water as it was fed back to the nozzles. The Amiad system was selected because it was self-cleaning and because of other successful installations of Amiad filters in similar applications. • 4 x 14” EBS 10000 filters on an 18” manifold for 5 filters • 1500 micron (0.06 inches) wedgewire screen elements • PLC control set up for 5 filters • Installed June 4, 2004

Results

In the first year of operation, the steel mill found that the filter system performed exceptionally well for them. • No plugged nozzles • No filter down time • TSS Reduction ≈30% • 160 ppm reduced to 110 ppm