AMIAD WORLDWIDE

Select your country and language

Based on your current location, we recommend this Amiad website for you

North America - English
ÉTUDE DE CAS

Filtration à haute température dans une usine de sucre, Royaume-Uni

PROJET

NOUS SOMMES ENGAGÉS - L'EAU PROPRE C'EST LA VIE

ID du projet

Pays

Royaume-Uni

Application

Nourriture et Boissons

Source d'eau

Eau industrielle

Solution de filtration

4 x SAF-6000

מסנני SAF6000  לטמפרטורה גבוהה
מסנני SAF6000  לטמפרטורה גבוהה
מפעל

Contexte

Dans le cadre de son activité de fabrication du sucre, une entreprise souhaitait améliorer son système de filtration pour filtrer le jus/sirop épais avant la procédure de cristallisation. L’ancien système de filtration était constitué de filtres à tamis beaucoup plus anciens arrivant en fin de vie. L’entreprise souhaitait filtrer le sirop visqueux et étudier les possibilités qui s’offraient à elle d’utiliser une quantité moins importante de sirop pour l’opération de contre-lavage des filtres.

Défi

Elle cherchait un moyen économique de rendre son système de filtration à tamis plus efficace tout en utilisant une plus petite quantité de sirop de sucre pour le contre-lavage. L’espace disponible pour accueillir le système de remplacement étant limité, la solution devait être suffisamment compacte pour rentrer dans le peu de place disponible. Le sirop très épais (75 Brix) est extrêmement visqueux et difficile à filtrer à basse température puisqu’il devient alors presque solide. Les filtres doivent donc supporter des températures supérieures à 90˚C. L’entreprise voulait trouver un filtre adapté aux hautes température, efficace, capable de limiter le sirop gaspillé lors du contre-lavage et permettant de protéger les chaînes de production en aval.

Solution

Compte tenu de la viscosité du sucre et de la résistance à la chaleur recherchée, il a été décidé d’utiliser quatre filtres Amiad SAF 6000 fabriqués spécialement en acier 316 et dotés de joints et roulements ultrasolides. Le client a confirmé que cette solution était la seule à pouvoir réduire de manière importante les gaspillages dus au contre-lavage tout en apportant le degré de filtration exigé par leurs systèmes de production. Amiad a fourni des filtres à tamis haute température SAF 6000 installés mi-2018 dans des boîtiers totalement isolés. La mise en service a été assurée par des techniciens Amiad.

Résultat

Le passage aux filtres Amiad a été un véritable succès. Depuis 2018, les 4 filtres SAF 6000 ont été mis en service et donnent satisfaction. Ils fonctionnent comme prévu, sans que la filtration ne soit interrompue, quelles que soient les contraintes imposées. Les filtres Amiad assurent une filtration efficace avec un gaspillage très faible de sirop de sucre, un autonettoyage efficace du tamis, une faible consommation d’énergie et d’excellentes performances de filtration.

AMIAD WORLDWIDE

Select your country and language

Based on your current location, we recommend this Amiad website for you

North America - English
CASE STUDY

Upgrade for Extreme Temperatures Filtration in Sugar Company, UK

PROJECT

WE ARE COMMITTED - CLEAN WATER IS LIFE

Project ID

Country

UK

Application

Food & Beverage

Water source

Industrials Water

Filtration solution

4 x SAF-6000

British Sugar Factory
British Sugar Factory
British Sugar Factory

Background

As part of the sugar-making operation, a British sugar company needed to upgrade its existing filtration system to filter thick juice/syrup prior to the crystallisation process. The previous filtration system consisted of much older screen filters which were coming to the end of their serviceable life. The company wanted to filter the viscous syrup and was exploring options to use less of it to backwash the filters.

Challenge

The company was looking for a cost-effective upgrade to the screen filtration which would use a much lower percentage of sugar syrup during backwash. The existing site had a limited space available for any replacement system and as such it needed a solution which could fit into the space available. The very thick syrup (75 Brix) is extremely viscous and difficult to filter at lower temperatures, where it becomes almost solid, so the filters had to be able to handle temperatures in excess of 90˚C. The company wanted to find a filter capable of handling the extreme temperatures whilst ensuring the filtration efficiency, minimizing the backwash losses and protecting the downstream production lines.

Solution

Given the viscosity and heat demands, it was decided to offer four units of Amiad’s SAF 6000 filters specially manufactured from 316 stainless steel with upgraded seals and bearings. The client confirmed that this solution was the only one which could guarantee much lower backwash losses while still providing the degree of filtration that their production systems demanded. Amiad supplied SAF 6000 high temperature screen filters which were installed in mid-2018 in fully insulated wrappings. Commissioning was undertaken by Amiad engineers.

Results

The changeover to the Amiad filters proved to be a success story. Since 2018, the 4 units of SAF 6000 filters have been commissioned and are in operation. These have been performing as intended without any interruption to filtration operation regardless of the system demands. The Amiad filters provide efficient filtration with very low total sugar syrup loss, proper self-cleaning of the screen, low power consumption and excellent filtration performance.