AMIAD WORLDWIDE

Select your country and language

Based on your current location, we recommend this Amiad website for you

North America - English
ÉTUDE DE CAS

Filtration de moules zébrées invasives, É.-U.A.

PROJET

NOUS SOMMES ENGAGÉS - L'EAU PROPRE C'EST LA VIE

ID du projet

Pays

États-Unis

Application

Protection des moules zébrées

Source d'eau

Lac Michigan

Solution de filtration

Galaxy 4” x 10 x 10”

התקנת מסנני דיסקיות
פסולת שנתפסה על מסנני הדיסקיות
גוף של מסנן רשת מלוכלך מבפנים
גוף של מסנן
מוזיאון

Contexte

Le Milwaukee Art Museum, War Memorial est un splendide bâtiment situé sur les rives du lac Michigan. Ses échangeurs de chaleur, datant de plus de 20 ans, devaient être changés. En raison de nouvelles limitations de construction et d’encombrement, les nouvelles conduites du refroidisseur ont été alimentées directement par le lac Michigan (un des Grands lacs) et un système de filtration a dû être mis en place pour empêcher que les moules zébrées ne colonisent la conduite et n’obstruent le système.

Défi

Les moules zébrées ont colonisé les Grands lac de manière accidentelle il y a de nombreuses années, et elles sont devenues une menace pour tous les systèmes alimentés par les eaux des lacs. Les larves (véligères) sont petites et mobiles et s’infiltrent dans les canalisations d’alimentation et les équipements. À un certain âge, elles se fixent à une surface pour se nourrir des particules organiques présentes dans l’eau, continuent de grandir et se reproduisent. Cette colonisation peut boucher les arrivées d’eau, les condenseurs, les échangeurs, etc. Une fois le système colonisé, il est difficile de remédier au problème. Les moules doivent être retirées physiquement ou traitées à l’aide d’une eau à forte température ou contenant de fortes doses de produits chimiques. La meilleure solution consiste à empêcher les larves véligères de pénétrer dans le système. La filtration est la solution idéale pour supprimer les larves véligères de moules, d’une taille comprise entre 80 et 400 microns.

Solution

Galaxy 4”x10x10”, avec réservoirs en inox et collecteurs, source externe avec surpresseur alimenté en eau filtrée.

Débit : 363 m³/h

Degré de filtration : 70 microns

Résultat

Comme les photos ci-dessous le montrent, le système de filtre à disques Arkal a radicalement empêché tout développement de moules zébrées dans les conduites d’alimentation, en aval du système de filtration qui protégeait la conduite d’eau du refroidisseur et l’échangeur de chaleur.

AMIAD WORLDWIDE

Select your country and language

Based on your current location, we recommend this Amiad website for you

France - French
CASE STUDY

Filtration of Invasive Zebra Mussels, USA

PROJECT

WE ARE COMMITTED - CLEAN WATER IS LIFE

Project ID

Country

USA

Application

Zebra mussels protection

Water source

Lake Michigan

Filtration solution

Galaxy 4” x 10 x 10”

Background

The Milwaukee Art Museum, War Memorial is a strikingly beautiful building on the shores of Lake Michigan which needed to replace its 20 year old heat exchangers. Due to new construction and footprint limitations, the new chiller feed line was fed directly from Lake Michigan (part of the Great Lakes) and a filtration system was needed to prevent zebra mussels from entering the feed line and clogging the system.

Challenge

Zebra mussels were accidentally brought into the Great Lakes region many years ago, and they have become a threat to any intake system pulling water from the lakes. The larvae (veligers) are small and mobile and infiltrate intake piping and equipment. Once they reach a certain age, they will attach to a surface to feed on organics in the water and continue to grow and reproduce. This colonization can clog water intakes, condensers, exchangers, etc. Once a system is colonized, treatment is difficult. Mussels must be physically removed or treated with high temperature water or heavy doses of chemicals. The best solution is to prevent the veligers from entering the system in the first place. Filtration is an ideal solution for removing the veliger phases of the mussels, which range in size from approximately 80 to 400 micron.

Solution

Galaxy 4”x10x10”, with stainless steel pods and manifolds, external source with a booster pump using filtered water. Flow rate: 1600gpm (363 m³/h) Filtration grade: 70 micron

Results

As can be seen from the photos below, the Arkal disc filter system has completely prevented any development of zebra mussels in the intake piping after the filtration system which has protected the chiller water line and heat exchanger.